Skip to main content
Emergency Trust Fund for Africa

EU Support to the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) ‘Regional Stabilisation Facility for Lake Chad’ (RSF)

The European Union (EU) as well as other donors will support the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) to create a ‘Regional Stabilisation Facility for Lake Chad’ (RSF) with the objective to stabilise the Boko Haram affected areas of the Lake Chad Basin. The Facility will consist in a multiscale multi-country mechanism with activities covering stabilisation and recovery, security, development and institutional support. The current budget estimate amounts to USD 100 million from 2019 to 2021.

This EUR 5 million action funded under the ‘EU Trust Fund for Emergency in Africa’ aims to contribute to the immediate stabilisation of the insurgency-affected areas of the Lake Chad Basin, notably through the strengthening of Security and the Rule of Law. The programme ambitions to reflect the ‘integrated approach’ to security and development by supporting both the redeployment of Security Forces and Law Enforcement Agencies in insurgency-affected areas while improving their relations with local populations in order to open the way for stabilisation and recovery in the region.

Main objectives

The specific objectives are to (1) improve the safety and security of populations and control over lake-bordering territories as well as to (2) improve Human Rights respect by Security Forces and Law Enforcement Agencies in the areas of intervention.

Action Fiche

2 MARCH 2023
(315.96 KB - PDF)

More news and stories on the region

  • News article

Sahel and Lake Chad: EU Trust Fund for Africa has assisted over 2,868,181 people in having an improved access to basic services and more than 809,410 people have particip

The third Monitoring and Learning System (MLS) report is now available, covering EU Emergency Trust Fund (EUTF) results until 30 June 2019 in the Sahel and Lake Chad window and neighbouring countries (Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chad, Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, The Gambia, Mali...